Undefeated Hayfield Hawks’ five starters selected 1st Team, All District


Credit: Hayfield Secondary School/Hawks Boys Basketball

This past Friday evening, the boys varsity basketball team at Hayfield Secondary School defeated the Falls Church Jaguars 79-51 in their last regular season game, ending the season with a perfect 22-0-0 record.

Hayfield Hawks wing forward David King (junior) was named the 2022 National District Player of the Year, and for the first time in Hayfield history, all five starters for the team, including King, were selected for 1st team, All District:

Greg Jones (junior) – 1st team and all defensive team

Braylon Wheeler (senior) 1st team and all defensive team

Ashton Pratt (senior) – 1st team

DJ Holloway (junior) – 1st team and all defensive team

Markus Rouse (senior) – 2nd team

Juan Henriquez (senior) – Honorable Mention

As the icing on the cake, Carlos Poindexter — a Hayfield graduate who was named head coach of the Hawks nearly 10 years ago — was named coach of the year.

Fairfax County BoS Chairman Jeff McKay enjoyed a recent Hawks game (Credit: Jeff McKay)

The Hawks, tied with St. Stephen’s and St. Agnes for #5 team in the state of Virginia according to MaxPrep rankings, will kick off their post-season with a home game against Justice High School on Tuesday, Feb. 15 at 8 p.m. Tickets are $5 for students and $7 for adults.

I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified